Connections and Collections

What comes to my mind with “Connections and Collections” is eclectic, eccentric, collecting with invisible intent. I never really knew that what I possessed would be interesting to anyone else, and I hear comments that my belongings are interesting and they gaze about my space in wonderment. I have tried to connect the past with the present in my home with a spattering of objects to remind me of my ancestral roots. I have things that everyone else has and most of my things can be organized by a myriad of books interspersed with shells, crystals, petrified rocks, vases, jars, and odd household objects that have so fascinated me since I was a child. Posed amongst these things are whimsical things of faery nature, along with just ordinary objects that are found in almost any household. It is the placement of these things, layered in vertical space that perform a marriage of fantasy and curiosities so placed in such a way that the invisible wand of camouflage may obscure your eye one moment and then catch your eye in the next moment. That morphing of a different reality is a piece of what I truly call a bit of whimsy. Most households I have visited may only have a stark reality, perhaps a minimalist lives there… and how sorry I feel for them, as the absence of stuff, leaves less for the imagination. In keeping my things connected I do believe one can layer colors into what they want to embellish, and one must not be afraid to mix bold patterns and colors within rugs, or wallpaper or specialized painting, accomplished with stencils and patterns, to marry two sides of the room together. Just embellish your space with collages of your possessions to allow you to connect with what is meaningful to you. At the end of the day your space should give you much pleasure. These sentimental possessions, whether it is an old book or a well-worn oceanic shell, perhaps these items have a spiritual connection rooted in your childhood. Perhaps they are visual cues or they provide tactile sensations that in your past so influenced you. Just display it and the interwoven significance of your possessions will continue to root and stabilize you in your own space and marvel the ones who you choose to allow entrance into your domain.

Copyright Helen Holden Gladsky, 2010

About holdenswhimsicals.com

Writing little snipits on notecards, doing little watercolors were always things I would do to stay in touch with friends and family. Today those little snipits are woven into the stories and they have also become the illustrations in my children's books: Elephoot, Elephoot Returns and Penelope - The Tea Mouse. I am currently working on my next book.
This entry was posted in Thoughts on Decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

