One’s writing place….has to be a comfortable space.

I know what it is like to sit down to write and to not feel comfortable. I have my favorite place to write, with old fashion desk items at hand, even though we now use wireless desktops to communicate.  These old things are writing tools for me as they act as triggers for me to conjure up words.  Sometimes one can stare vacantly at the screen and if there is a reason to get up and move around, I have left the room to attend to a different task at hand.  I know I had excuses  not to write for the longest time.  It finally dawned on me that my house wasn’t in order.  Maybe if there are things out of place in one’s house or in a relationship of sorts, one has to find the way to put whatever seems to be out of place, into sequence and then back into order.  For me writing has always been a passion, and if I sit and mull I am usually able to find a way to put words down on paper.  Most of the time writing and organization of thoughts seem to come to me naturally. Sometimes I write a few notes on a piece of white paper, and if I need to, I organize my thoughts in an outline form.  Usually some of these cues that I give myself will result in a positive flow of words on the page.  Although there have been those times that I would seek solace in my closet if the neighbor noise became too loud to tune out.  And, so I suppose the excuse that I gave myself was the noisy neighbor, the chores, the invisible significant other and perhaps the crowded closet also had a hand in making me feel as though I was out of order.

I suppose order and organization go hand in hand.  If writing has a purpose and if there is order and soundness to one’s writing, there is clarity, function, and form.  Gifted writers use frugality of words as succinct as possible to create well-written text.  I guess it must have bothered me tremendously to recognize that if my closet was out of order that I needed some orderliness.  I didn’t really know how to organize my things, so I hired an outfit to put in my closet system.  I was amazed that the end result of nooks, crannies, and a pole system could immediately organize that space and give me peace of mind.  It seemed almost uncanny that a stranger could readily see what was lacking in my closet, but in actuality it was just a blank space.   After the closet system went in, order came to my life, things just fell into place, not only in my closet, in my house, and simultaneously I was back in my comfort zone where thoughts channel through my fingertips  onto what was once the blank page.

©  Helen Holden-Gladsky 2010

About holdenswhimsicals.com

Writing little snipits on notecards, doing little watercolors were always things I would do to stay in touch with friends and family. Today those little snipits are woven into the stories and they have also become the illustrations in my children's books: Elephoot, Elephoot Returns and Penelope - The Tea Mouse. I am currently working on my next book.
This entry was posted in Historical Perspectives, Space. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

