Holdens Whimsicals

June 11, 2010   Holdens Whimsicals

Someone recently asked me, “If I had a business what is it that I would want the business to do?”  If you are stumped write down on a piece of paper anything that comes to your mind and don’t worry what you write down, it just opens your mind, and spontaneous creativity is allowed to flow…

I thought about it, and realized that my writing was of the upmost importance to me and, also, I love having whimsical things in my home, creating whimsical things, and so I realized I needed to incorporate the essence of my own thoughts into a business name, and the best that I came up with was Holdens Whimsicals because it allows me to be me, act like me, and in using this name it allows me to create anything I want from words to almost anything under the sun.

When I was married I had one whimsical room in the house, and that was the third bedroom, which became a writing room, a painting room, a room to read stories that I created for my daughter’s enjoyment, and it was also a place to go that was very comforting to me, perhaps it could be said that it comforted my soul, every time I walked through that door.  As time went on the room magically developed itself while we lived in that home.  Years later while living on my own I started to decorate my own home in eclectic ways, and I found myself doing what came naturally to me, posing things in certain ways, much like the third bedroom in New York, and, as a result almost everyone who came to visit us told me how whimsical everything was. It seemed so odd to me because I had books on bookshelves, and other possessions displayed here and there, yet, it never occurred to me that it was the way I decorated using a vertical wall space weaving all sorts of collections into the display and in other peoples minds, elements of fantasy and magical realities seemed to evoke these entities depending on who was viewing the living-room. Some people gravitated to the old books, others to the crystals, still others saw the view of the ridge from an Asian perspective, gazing through curtains whose valance possess an Asian theme with bonsai trees repeating across the room.  The feeling of austerity continues onto our porch with simplistic succulents arranged, and then the eyes seek the horizon beyond the railing heading towards a borrowed landscape beyond my neighbors roof tops and trees that resemble or give off a feeling of an Asian village.    Other guests head to our kitchen which is decorated with old fashion kitchen utensils and wares and, they marvel at the old butter presses, egg-grinder, and trivets.

Holdens Whimsicals came from a place – my heart  – and, magically it is truly the essence of my being of what I love most, and perhaps it also could be said that I am living my dreams and passions by making Holdens Whimsicals a place where I can write my thoughts and others can come to read and perhaps become inspired themselves to do whatever it is that creates joy from within.  Thus, on my opening day of going public when I first published my blog on May, 13, 2010 — Holdens Whimsicals, circled the world, and came into being beyond my own whimsical rooms.

Copyright Helen W. Holden-Gladsky 2010

About holdenswhimsicals.com

Writing little snipits on notecards, doing little watercolors were always things I would do to stay in touch with friends and family. Today those little snipits are woven into the stories and they have also become the illustrations in my children's books: Elephoot, Elephoot Returns and Penelope - The Tea Mouse. I am currently working on my next book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

