BREAD PUDDING — Taste Buds – Be Transformed!

How often is it that we look for a tiny escape to our regular routine? I know that I crave change and on evenings when I can steal some time to myself for “adult” time, I love to meet up with friends of like minds! Last Friday evening was an evening that turned out to be such a nice surprise. One of my friends has a penchant for finding new eating places with atmosphere and we happened to find Bill Higgins restaurant “Whipper Snappers” on 4th Street in San Rafael, CA. Instantly upon entering one is greeted by a pleasant visual experience of a Caribbean palette of colors from deep blues to purples and exotic art graces the walls and niches. We grabbed two seats at the bar right in front of the door. I noticed how warm and inviting it was, and, the table seating is plentiful, with a delightful intimate back porch that begs for company. A musician was playing a lively Spanish Flamenco just as we entered and upon a quick glance I saw many families enjoying their feast. Sangria was offered and with the lively music we were on our way to a fun evening.

Fun … it was an extraordinarily fun evening, yet I can’t do it justice without mentioning my experience with the fabulous dessert, BREAD PUDDING, comprised of a secret recipe prepared by Bianca Smith and, actually she is responsible for all of the desserts there! I have to say, without a doubt, that her Bread Pudding takes first prize. I have a long background of bread pudding in my family, as my father was a connoisseur of many things, and bread pudding happened to be one thing in particular that he was very fond of. We grew up with various types of his experimentation of many different bread pudding desserts with currents, raisins, and perhaps some mysterious leftover food additions, that I wasn’t sure what he may have added in those days. However, to give praise to Bianca Smith’s own exotic recipe, it is a taste treat – to die for! For those who are adventurous and may want to experience a separate reality I do encourage you to try her bread pudding, but I must forewarn you that her dessert’s secret ingredient of chocolate melts in your mouth at every bite. For the past several days I have been craving her special pudding, which I must admit is above and beyond my father’s recipes. Bianca Smith’s  culinary treats will delight your sweet tooth, her BREAD PUDDING will alter your taste buds forever. I am most certain you will want to return to this special Caribbean adventure, just a hop, skip and not too far away.

Copyright 2010 Helen W. Holden-Gladsky

About holdenswhimsicals.com

Writing little snipits on notecards, doing little watercolors were always things I would do to stay in touch with friends and family. Today those little snipits are woven into the stories and they have also become the illustrations in my children's books: Elephoot, Elephoot Returns and Penelope - The Tea Mouse. I am currently working on my next book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

