Down the Rabbit Hole

Dear All,

I have been writing and illustrating a children’s story for the past two years.  This has been quite a journey and very rewarding for me too.  Writing uses one side of my head and maybe the illustrations come from the other side.  Some days are dry and on other days the words and illustrations just flow perfectly.  At times I find that I will draw or paint way into the night when the phone doesn’t ring and at other times the daylight will be the right light to add the watercolors to the pages.  I wish I could control both of these entities and have perfect results each time I attempt something.

If you are interested in viewing or purchasing my whimsical illustrations, please visit:

http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/helen-holdengladsky.html

 

About six weeks ago I had to decide who I wanted to give my time to.  Every day there were commitments and deadlines and people wanted my attention for all kinds of things. Then I imposed a self-appointed time for me and only me to do what I want to do.  I have labeled this time as My Time.  I don’t have to explain to anyone anymore that I need my time too.  It was concept that I had a hard time doing, parceling out time for myself.  I had to practice saying “No” and also I had to learn that I don’t have to give any explanations to anyone.  Mostly now I say I am working on my book, but it could be my blog, or my illustrations, but the end result is that I have had more time for myself and more time for developing my stories and art. And, I feel so much better!

We all need time away and if we can’t go on a vacation then taking one’s time down their own rabbit hole to a space far away from those who impose on us is the next best solution.  I come up for air and I go on walks and I hop along knowing that I am enjoying some free time away from the crowd!

 

About holdenswhimsicals.com

Writing little snipits on notecards, doing little watercolors were always things I would do to stay in touch with friends and family. Today those little snipits are woven into the stories and they have also become the illustrations in my children's books: Elephoot, Elephoot Returns and Penelope - The Tea Mouse. I am currently working on my next book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

