Unraveling the Basics

Reading, writing and illustrating… The daily do-list… It seems that all this comes naturally on the days and nights when I can pound out word after word and not worry which way it looks on paper or in the computer nowadays.  I look back on the dry spells and wonder what I thought about then, or what was I doing?  Was I gathering fodder or looking through scraps of paper reminding me of things to write about? Was I simply on a museum day with a friend, on an outing, driving somewhere to do an errand and/or taking a moment to relax?  We all have these days or nights. It is what we do with the time that we take when we aren’t crafting our crafts.  I used to write streams of stories and they came one after the other.  Then I turned my brain over to illustrating them, and those little pictures turn up when they do.  If I am not satisfied with the image, I don’t turn them away or throw them out- I hang on to them, because they can be used at another time. It can be an image for a card, or a baby’s room wall in a frame and so forth.  Then I started the book, now that is finished, so I started the publishing side and then I started to sell them.  Each day has flown into the next one.  Each idea developed another whole slew of ideas and they keep on coming… Trouble is finding the time to develop each one of those ideas.  From the first book came the next book in the series.  I re-wrote the second book to create the pathway for other stories… The ideas just keep occurring to me. I thought perhaps the characters live in my head, and now they want out, but in reality once a person starts something, then ideas can be grown out of what is started.  Now people are asking for more books in the series.  Everything has a time and a place, but who knew that these bits of imagination could start to rule my life.  It has been fun for me to see the actual book, and also to hear someone giggle when they read the book or look at the illustrations.  The simple basics we learned as children become the pillars of the daily do-list…  Repetition, thoughts, silly ideas, can work themselves into your craft. All one has to do is start, and then it just unravels as you go… one word, one link, one thought, soon a strand or a line, then a paragraph, then a chapter, then a book… !

About holdenswhimsicals.com

Writing little snipits on notecards, doing little watercolors were always things I would do to stay in touch with friends and family. Today those little snipits are woven into the stories and they have also become the illustrations in my children's books: Elephoot, Elephoot Returns and Penelope - The Tea Mouse. I am currently working on my next book...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.